September 30, 2013

  • A Mission to Civilize: The Newsroom

     

    I don’t get all the hate for the HBO series, The Newsroom. I’ve only recently become acquainted with the series, now two seasons old, after an uncle visiting from out of state cued up Will McAvoy’s (Jeff Daniels) monologue from the first show. He, being a Liberal just like me, thought I would appreciate the message. After watching that tidbit I knew I had to see the series from the start somehow, even though I am not an HBO subscriber. I worked out a way, and during the past week I viewed the entire two seasons as an intermittent marathon, between work, household chores and sleep. I even stayed up past my bedtime last night to watch the season 2 finale. I’m an early riser, and though I dragged myself through the day today, it was completely worth it!

    I Googled news and reviews for The Newsroom today, and was shocked that many critics wrote about their seething hatred of the show, and in particular the finale for this season. I was much relieved after reading the comments for these articles to find I was not alone in my love for the series, the well developed characters, the fine acting, and the genius of the writer, Aaron Sorkin. Peppered between the positive comments were the haters, some of them not comprehending the message, or believing many questions were left unanswered. One of the things that perplexed more than few was Maggie’s (Alison Pill) hair. They said the reason for her drastic cut and color was never revealed. They must not have been listening, or they are dumber than a box of rocks because, seriously? That was definitely addressed.

    I can only gather from some of the comments that many of the haters are Republicans of the newest, most rabid variety, so I expect no less than flames and critical appraisals of the show from them. Although, Will McAvoy is a Republican on the show, the writer Sorkin’s liberal roots show through in the dialogue of most of the characters.

    Some of the negative comments expressed disappointment that the female characters are represented as weak or lacking self esteem. While I can see how the initial impression of the female characters can be misconstrued as such, really what we are being shown is their growth emotionally throughout each episode. It is a human thing, people. Hopefully we all grow, mature, and become more self-confident with time and experience. Sorkin has even developed the main male characters in the same manner. And really, do you call this weak?

    Oh well, haters gonna hate. As for me? I am looking forward to the announcement from HBO that all things are a go for season three!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *