July 27, 2010

  • Surprise! You’ve Been Auto-renewed!

    Every morning when I wake up on a day I have to work my routine is pretty much the same: my alarm goes off, I hit snooze once or twice, I rub the sleep from my eyes, sit up, grab my cell phone and check my email from my phone. Focusing is sometimes difficult, but it’s an exercise that helps me wake up a little more.

    This morning was no different, except when I checked my email I found a not-so-pleasant note in my inbox. The contents jarred me awake immediately.

    “Auto-renewal for (virus protection package)” to the tune of $69.99. I had received some emails stating that this particular item was up for renewal, but they didn’t have my current/updated credit card information. I never responded to update that information with them because I no longer use the product. I was under the impression that if I didn’t update the info, they wouldn’t charge me, my software license key would expire, and that would be the end of it. I guess I was wrong.

    So I stumble downstairs to my computer to investigate the situation on a larger screen, my eyes still blurry from a night of restful slumber.

    I didn’t read it wrong. They debited my account, and it was pending in my online bank statement.

    RATS! I was already running tight on money this month (as I normally do), but this amount of money meant it’s going to be more difficult for me to rob Peter to pay Paul. I find the customer service number on their site, even though I could do it online…that is, if I had the original activation code and transaction number, which I do not.

    After a series of, “press this number for this, press this number for that,” I am connected to someone named “Mary” who has a decidedly Indian accent. (I just hate it that we’ve shipped our customer service –and other industries – - outside the country, but I digress…). I explain the situation to her, and she gives me no problems when I ask for a refund. The only problem is that I will receive said refund within 5 days, and it will show up in my bank account within 30 days. This is not an optimal savings plan for me at this time. It’s a good thing I have some food in the freezer, though it looks like it may not last long enough. But, I have all the faith that the Good Lord will see me through, as He always does, and we will not go hungry.

    I am not sure if I have any other automatic renewals coming for anything else in the future. I thought I had eliminated all of them until this one reared its ugly head. With more forethought I would have kept a spreadsheet with everything that auto-renewed, though typically when given the auto-renew option I turn it down, or don’t buy anything that stipulates I must choose auto-renew to purchase it in the first place. I don’t know how this one got by me. I am just fortunate I had the money in my account, or that would have been a true disaster.

    I am going to do my best to think peaceful thoughts and not get worked up about it. I’ll just stare at this photo I took and forgot to upload with the rest of them yesterday:


    (Click to Enlarge)

    Has something ever been charged to your bank account that took you by surprise?

    What are your thoughts on shipping customer service, manufacturing, and other industries overseas?

July 26, 2010

  • Glimpses of What I See

    Not much going on for me today, my day off, other than doing things around the house that need to be done. While I was browsing my photos here on Xanga, I noticed that I hadn’t uploaded many of the photos that I uploaded to Facebook during my extended hiatus from Xanga. Thought I’d post some of them now, since I have other irons in the fire and can’t get to a meatier post at the moment (several in the works, stay tuned!).

    Album Link to View Larger

July 24, 2010

July 23, 2010

  • I Like Cheese With My Wine, BTW

    I had no intention in participating in the latest topic set forth by Featured_Grownups, you know, the one about, “What do you worship, follow, or believe in?” When I saw that this particular topic was the one voted on for the second part of July I cringed. It’s not because I am ashamed or embarrassed by what I believe in, it’s just that I was always taught not to discuss such things in mixed company…religion and politics…they always make for lively and sometimes heated discussion. Actually I’ve rarely blogged about either, wishing to keep my blog on the lighter side of things, usually. But this topic has been nagging at me for several days now. I guess the Spirit is willing, but the flesh has been weak.

    But we’re all friends here, right? whatevah I actually have many friends here on Xanga who I know don’t see things even remotely close to the way I do. And that’s fine. I guess the biggest reason for my hesitation is that I don’t want anyone thinking I am preaching to them, or trying to convert them to my way of thinking on the topic. It’s a very personal subject, and it should be. Typically I don’t share my religious views until I feel led to do so, and well, now seems to be a time to do so, since I can’t seem to escape the thoughts about this very post that I’m about to share. So here goes…turn back now if you don’t want to read it…you’ve been duly warned!

    I am a Spirit filled, Bible believing, follower of the Messiah, Jesus of Nazareth…Son of the only true and living God (the Father), the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. Many call it being a “Born Again” Christian. However, I don’t really fit into a nice little cookie cutter mold as many would think I would, professing this as what I believe. My beliefs differ in some respects compared to other believers. I know when you think of someone who calls themselves a “Born Again Christian” it conjures images of a Bible thumping, hellfire and brimstone preaching, straight-laced goody two shoes. Well, that’s not me. Here’s why:

    1) I don’t go to church. I’ve done that, been there. I haven’t found a church yet that believes the same way I do. I study on my own, I’ve heard a bunch of sermons. I’m bored. I’m hungry. I want more “meat” than what the church today can give me, and all I get there seems to be a steady diet of milk. I know, you other Christians out there are saying, “But the Bible says that we aren’t supposed to forsake the assembling of ourselves together!” I don’t believe that a church building is the only place that it can be done. I assemble with other Christians elsewhere.

    2) I believe that abortion should remain a legal option. I think it is between that woman and God. I also don’t believe that life starts at the fertilization of the ovum. I believe that the fetus is nothing more than a mass of cells before God “quickens” it…that is, until you can feel it moving inside your womb.

    3) I take my communion with real wine. Many think that drinking alcohol is a sin. I don’t. I firmly believe where it says in the Bible that Jesus turned water into wine that he didn’t turn it into grape juice. I even enjoy drinking wine at times when I am not having communion. I like beer sometimes, too. I’ve never been too into hard liquor, but to each his own.

    4) I don’t think that one particular sin is any greater than another. Have you ever lied? Have you ever coveted something that someone else has? Stolen? Are you gay, lesbian, or bi? I’ve lied. I’ve coveted. I’m not a lesbian, I’m straight, but does that make me better in God’s eyes than someone who prefers a same sex relationship? No. In God’s eyes there are no varying degrees of sin. And if anyone says they don’t sin, they are a liar. So there. We are all in need of redemption. I am not better than anyone else.

    5) I don’t think shoving my beliefs down someone else’s throat yields the results that God wants. As I said before, I don’t share what I believe until I feel led by the Spirit to do so. You will not find me going door to door passing out tracts. You also won’t find me posting a whole lot about being saved, or that you’re all sinners destined for Hell. We are supposed to love one another. God is a God of Grace. He is love. Should I not sow seeds of love instead of seeds of despair?

    6) I don’t believe that “spare the rod, spoil the child” means that we are supposed to physically harm our children. Not that I haven’t swatted my kids on the backside a time or two. If anyone knows anything about what a shepherd uses a “rod” for, it’s not a tool of aggression, nor used for beating; it’s used as a prod for guidance.

    7) I believe in free will, and I believe God can still do miracles. I think we all have our own choices to make. I can’t make a choice for anyone but myself. I can only walk my own walk. I also believe in the gifts of the Spirit, and that they are in operation today.

    I guess those are the main things that make me different than most Christians. I am curious if there are any other Christians out there in the Xangaverse who think the same way I do?

    Would you like to know where I stand on other issues? You may ask in the comments…

  • Busy Busy Busy

    That’s me. Must shower. Have to get to work. Day off tomorrow! Real post coming later today.

    Why am I always running late these days?