Month: August 2010

  • With a Name Like Earl…

    …it’s probably going to be really bad!

     

    My stepfather’s name was Earl…well, the man my mom was married to when I was a little girl. It was interesting to see the headline on the news, “East Coast Evacuation Looms If Monster Earl Gets Close.” The stepfather, Earl, was a monster. If this storm lives up to it’s name it could be a nasty one! I wrote about it in a 6 part series of posts some time back that features “Monster Earl.” Check out the story, if you are so inclined:

    Florida:
    Alligators Aren’t So Bad
    Part 1 2 3 4 5 6

     

  • Overheard Today at Work:

    Today while I was checking prices in the Health and Beauty aisle, a man talking on his cell phone to whom I presume was his wife says, “Yeah, I can’t remember what toothpaste you wanted. I know you want gel but I can’t remember the brand.”

    (pause, as he listens to the voice on the other end)

    “Okay, well I got your dental floss. I am going to pick up a toothbrush for myself, too.”

    (pause)

    “YES I need a new toothbrush. The one I had at work fell on the floor in the bathroom.” (pause) “It fell by the urinal.” (pause) “No, I will never put that toothbrush in my mouth again. It may as well have fallen IN the urinal. Would YOU ever use that toothbrush again? I’m getting a toothbrush…” as he walks away, picking up a toothbrush and going to the checkout.

    Geez, cut the guy a break, lady! You’re getting toothpaste and dental floss, can your husband have a new, sanitary, freakin’ toothbrush??

    Would you ever use a toothbrush again that fell on the floor in a public restroom?

    Would you argue with your significant other about getting a new toothbrush if it happened to them?

     

  • I Like The Way My Genes Fit

    Not a post from me since Thursday, but for good reason. I was attending a reunion of my paternal Grandmother’s family in between work all weekend long. The Charlesworth’s hail from England originally. One branch came over here to the States, another branch is still in England. We even had a family member from the U.K. make the trip over here for the festivities. Part of my dad’s side of the family lives on the West Coast – - my dad’s identical twin brother and his kids (my cousins)…or biologically (since they are identical twins), my half-brothers. My dad sired 4 girls, and my Uncle David 3 boys. With each group lacking opposite gender siblings it is kind of cool for all of us to be able to say we’re siblings. It is not unusual for us to call each other “Bro” or “Sis” which can still garner quizzical looks from people even if they know the situation. There is a strong family resemblance between us all, not just in physical appearance but also personality-wise. We hadn’t seen each other in many years, so it was very nice to catch up. The weekend was too short, though, and they left for home yesterday.

    I thought I’d share a few photos and be on my way for the week. Actually, a little over a week. I probably won’t be back on Xanga until after September 3rd. I have a busy week ahead of me and must keep my priorities in check. Real life issues call. I love Xanga, but it can be a time sucker, ya know? You never know, though, I may find a few moments here and there to pop back in, and perhaps make a post, but no promises. My work week is going to be hectic, with a lot of early mornings, and I have personal business to attend to after work each day, and appointments to keep. All is well. I just wish I could clone myself and be in several places doing several things at once. Heh.

    Friday evening, pre-reunion dinner at Marion’s Piazza, the best pizza in the world.

    We had half of the whole restaurant reserved and needed every inch of it.

     

    The husband, myself, and daughter Marisa, at Marion’s.

     

    John and James, the eldest and youngest of my three brothers. Middle brother, David, was not in attendance.

     

    Dimples run in my family. So do big smiles. happy


    This is the park where the reunion was held on Saturday.

    Pretty, huh? It rained a bit, but we needed it.

    The food we had was catered. Deluxe.

     

    I love lily pads. Just a closer-up view. winky


    Uncle David and my dad, Craig.

    The t-shirts are a photo of my Great-Great Grandfather Charlesworth. I am told he was a lawyer.

     

    My sister Sally’s daughter, Nicole. She looks so much like me when I was young.

    I call her “Mini Me.”


    That’s it for now. See you in a little over a week.

  • Trust or Worry, You Can’t Do Both

    As a Christian I try to do all that is commanded of me. I am not perfect, I do misstep from time to time. Okay, probably daily, but I do what is humanly possible.

    I had noticed recently that I was worrying a lot; worrying about finances, about scheduling issues, time to do all the things I need to do. Oh, sure, I prayed every day…for others, for loved ones, for the Lord to help me get my act together with these issues…yet I wasn’t seeing any positive moves in the right direction.

    For some time I just chalked it up to waiting on the Lord, that He would do things in His own good time. I have learned to be patient, and then some, having prayed some time ago for patience (never pray that prayer unless you really want patience, because you will get a good lesson in it, trust me!). I also realize that sometimes God’s answer is a resounding, “No way!” but I also know that we are promised to have our needs met, and if we are blessed we will have things in abundance, pressed down and overflowing. I just wanted the needs met, and it was not always happening.

    Instead of blaming God for not doing what He has promised, I decided to look at myself. What was I doing that was not allowing me to be blessed? After thinking for some time I think I narrowed it down pretty well.

    The worrying was getting in the way.

    A favorite adage my mother has always said is, “Trust or worry; you can’t do both.” And really, it couldn’t be more true. If we are worrying we are not placing the problems and issues we have firmly in the hand of God. We allow our fleshly selves to try to out-think the Creator. He wants us to give Him all…the praise, the glory, and yes, even the problems. If we are worrying, we are not putting our faith where it belongs, and that is in God.

    I prayed a simple prayer a couple of days ago, “Lord, increase my faith.” I laid it all down and gave it to Him, like we are supposed to. The results have been amazing. I’m glad I figured out that I was my own worst impediment to being blessed.

    I am reminded of the Scripture that reads. “…The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.”

    Have you had any prayers that have been answered lately?

    Are you in need of prayer and wish to make a prayer request?

  • My First Mohawk! (with PICS!)

    Weird day at work today. I was supposed to be on a register/cashiering, but someone had to go home, so I got shuffled to home delivery. That only lasted for about 45 minutes when the person who left came back, and then I was put on a register. The rest of the day was slow. I was glad when my shift was finally over and I could come home. It has been such a beautiful day outside! Low humidity and reasonable temperatures…a far cry from the blazing heat we’ve had all summer. The heat and humidity is due back in the next day or so. I am not looking forward to it.

    After I picked up my son from his dad’s last night (his dad was supposed to bring him home, according to our court order, but he rarely follows any of it), he asked me if I could cut his hair into a Mohawk. I have been trying for years to get him to do a Mohawk, so I quickly agreed.

     

     

    Not a bad job, if I do say so myself.

    We have a big family reunion coming up this weekend. His grandpa did his own hair in a Mohawk a couple of years ago, so I think Jaden will have at least one vote of approval.

    What is the strangest way you’ve ever done your hair?