August 23, 2010

  • I Like The Way My Genes Fit

    Not a post from me since Thursday, but for good reason. I was attending a reunion of my paternal Grandmother’s family in between work all weekend long. The Charlesworth’s hail from England originally. One branch came over here to the States, another branch is still in England. We even had a family member from the U.K. make the trip over here for the festivities. Part of my dad’s side of the family lives on the West Coast – - my dad’s identical twin brother and his kids (my cousins)…or biologically (since they are identical twins), my half-brothers. My dad sired 4 girls, and my Uncle David 3 boys. With each group lacking opposite gender siblings it is kind of cool for all of us to be able to say we’re siblings. It is not unusual for us to call each other “Bro” or “Sis” which can still garner quizzical looks from people even if they know the situation. There is a strong family resemblance between us all, not just in physical appearance but also personality-wise. We hadn’t seen each other in many years, so it was very nice to catch up. The weekend was too short, though, and they left for home yesterday.

    I thought I’d share a few photos and be on my way for the week. Actually, a little over a week. I probably won’t be back on Xanga until after September 3rd. I have a busy week ahead of me and must keep my priorities in check. Real life issues call. I love Xanga, but it can be a time sucker, ya know? You never know, though, I may find a few moments here and there to pop back in, and perhaps make a post, but no promises. My work week is going to be hectic, with a lot of early mornings, and I have personal business to attend to after work each day, and appointments to keep. All is well. I just wish I could clone myself and be in several places doing several things at once. Heh.

    Friday evening, pre-reunion dinner at Marion’s Piazza, the best pizza in the world.

    We had half of the whole restaurant reserved and needed every inch of it.

     

    The husband, myself, and daughter Marisa, at Marion’s.

     

    John and James, the eldest and youngest of my three brothers. Middle brother, David, was not in attendance.

     

    Dimples run in my family. So do big smiles. happy


    This is the park where the reunion was held on Saturday.

    Pretty, huh? It rained a bit, but we needed it.

    The food we had was catered. Deluxe.

     

    I love lily pads. Just a closer-up view. winky


    Uncle David and my dad, Craig.

    The t-shirts are a photo of my Great-Great Grandfather Charlesworth. I am told he was a lawyer.

     

    My sister Sally’s daughter, Nicole. She looks so much like me when I was young.

    I call her “Mini Me.”


    That’s it for now. See you in a little over a week.

Comments (17)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment