September 7, 2010

  • “Tough Bird”

    That is how the doctor described my mom after all she’s been through, and her determination to suffer through all the pain in order to save as much of her leg as possible.

    The surgery went better than the doctor could have hoped. He was able to find a good vein and good attachment sites. There is good blood flow through the graft. Here is a diagram of the fem-pop bypass:

    The doc went a bit above where they went in before, and a little below where he attached the graft in the previous surgery.

    Now it is a wait and see type of thing…waiting to see exactly how much of her leg can be saved and how much will be amputated. She’s in ICU at the moment, not due to any complications, but because of all of the issues she’s had in the past. “Better safe than sorry,” is the way the doctor expressed his reasoning for putting her in ICU. It was a good decision. I haven’t seen her yet, and because the visiting hours for ICU are tight, I may not see her until tomorrow after work. Her husband is at the hospital, but they won’t let him stay very long, either. That part sucks because she is very frightened of being alone, without family. Like I’ve said before, we do what we can…sometimes we are just able to do what we are allowed.

    So this was the reason why I worked 7 days in row, so I could have today off for my mom’s surgery. I work the next 4 days, with Sunday off. I am looking forward to it. Hopefully all stays calm and I can get a little bit of rest. I almost feel badly for feeling tired, and having an aching back and feet; knowing what kind of pain my mother is in I feel I shouldn’t complain.

Comments (7)

  • I dedicate my next painting to your mom. I don’t know what or when but as each stroke of paint is applied I will be praying for your family. ( I just bought a slew of new blank canvases and a handfull of new brushes yesterday.)

  • What a beautiful gesture. Thank you.  My mom would always get so excited to get new canvases and brushes. I’m afraid her painting days may be over, but I hope I am wrong.

  • glad i made it here b4 crashing 2nite – i am reminded to add mom to my prayer -gotta crash – hope everything else is well too (((Lise)))

  • praying for her speedy recovery

  • Sending tons of prayers, warm thoughts and good vibes to your Mom.

  • So glad she came through ok, and I hope this time the procedure is successful.

  • Your mom is in my prayers. Hope she recovers quickly and has minimal pain. I also hope work is going well and you get some sleep!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment